The Candidacy Committee's mission is to recruit, endorse, support and approve prospective candidates for rostered leadership in this church and to provide a system of support and ministry to those on the rosters.  The Candidacy Committee works with Horizon Internships and compensation guidelines. In addition, this commission oversees, with the Office of the Bishop, the recently created Parish Ministry Training program.
Contact: Rev. Dr. Judith Spindt, Candidacy Liaison

Candidacy Committee
Contact Chair: Rev. Jaime Bouzard

The Candidacy Committee guides people through the candidacy process toward rostered service in the ELCA (pastor, diaconal minister, deaconess, or associate in ministry). Particular topics addressed by this group include:
* Help candidates more clearly discern their own vocational call and understand the needs of the wider church.
* Provide modest financial assistance to our synod’s candidates, based primarily on financial need.
* Support candidates as they go through training for their particular roster.
* Annual candidacy retreat
* Guidance through the formal candidacy process, which includes committee decisions for entrance, endorsement and approval.
* To the best of their ability, seek commitment that candidates will live according to the ELCA Visions and Expectations for Rostered Leaders.
* The TEEM (Theological Education in Emerging Ministries) process for special candidates in very unique emerging ministry settings.
First Call Theological Education
Contact Chair:

The ELCA requires all newly rostered persons to participate in a structured program of continuing theological education and support from colleagues for their first three years of service. The program in this synod has several components:

* Mentoring relationship
* Core curriculum (includes development of collegiality, pastoral identity and formation, conflict management, and ministerial relationships)
* Structured readings
* Electives
Candidacy Forms


Candidacy Retreat 2013

The annual candidacy retreat was held in December for synod members preparing for rostered ministry in the ELCA. 

Pictured are front row: Paul Theiss (Spirit of Joy, Seguin), Amy Westphal (Lutheran Church of the Resurrection, Wimberley), Sharolyn Browning (St. Martin’s, Austin), Kelsie Pfenninger Theiss (Spirit of Joy, Seguin),  Amanda Schnelle Ullrich (Gethsemane, Austin), Heather Hansen (MacArthur Park, San Antonio) , Jopie Surmadi (Triumphant Love, Austin);  middle row:  Jan Quirl (Holy Cross, Austin), Ele Clay (First English, Austin), Brianna Morris-Brock (Triumphant Love, Austin), Ariel Williams (Emanuel’s, Seguin), Candice Combs (St. Martin’s, Austin), Sue Irvin (St. Paul, Nordheim), Drew Ingram (St. Martin’s, Austin); Back row:  Lisa Hoelscher (Zion, Helotes), Kathee Forrest (Zion, Helotes), and Travis Gould (First English, Austin).


The Southwestern Texas Synod is part of Region 4 of the ELCA-Brandmark
gtm-icon  ELCA  facebook  twitter  instagram  enewsbutton