Tiemann Endowment for Leadership Development
Each day, our family, friends, neighbors, and those we have yet to meet are impacting our communities in profound ways through the work of the church. For the past 18 years, Former Bishop Ray Tiemann served our community of faith by equipping our pastors and deacons and lay leaders as they build and strengthen our congregations and ministries.
To honor his retirement, the Tiemann Endowment for Leadership Development was established to support the development of congregational lay leaders, pastors, and deacons serving under call.  Together with YOU, we can make a long-lasting impact in our community while significantly honoring Former Bishop Ray and Debbie Tiemann. We thank you for the support you are providing for every leader who will be blessed deeply by this endowment.

Debbie & Ray Photo

Former Bishop Ray
& Debbie Tiemann

Checks should be made payable to 
noting on your check memo line Tiemann Endowment Fund.
Lutheran Foundation of the Southwest
103 12th Street, Suite 201  Pflugerville, Texas 78660

More Information

Endowed funds provide a permanent legacy of compassion and education through a designated, long-term financial resource. Managed by Lutheran Foundation of the Southwest as a permanent endowment fund, the principal investment will be maintained to support the leadership development of congregational lay leaders and pastors and deacons serving under call.

Lay leaders, pastors, and deacons serving under call will be eligible to apply for leadership development grants beginning April 2018.

Roberto, a volunteer youth worker, will now receive an Advanced Certification in Youth and Family Ministry to strengthen the ministry in his congregation. To further congregational experiences and reach our multicultural community, Sarah will attend an intensive language course, while Katie will journey on a pilgrimage. Pastor Martin will receive financial assistance to participate in continuing education during his sabbatical. These and other opportunities will be possible with support from the Tiemann Endowment Fund for Leadership Development.

The goal for the first year is to raise $39,000 by the 2018 Synod Assembly (May 2018) to honor each year Bishop Tiemann has served in ordained ministry. Because of the commitment to this opportunity, 100 percent of the Fund Planning Team, Synod staff, and the heads of the synod's agencies and institutions have committed to start the fund. As of November 30th $75,694.63 has been given. With your support, the balance of the first-year goal will ensure a legacy is established.

Congregations are asked to consider receiving a special appeal, or encouraging members to give directly to the fund. Consider a special appeal received through a designated date, a gift by your endowment, Sunday School challenge, or even a fun noisy offering.

Synod Council members, synod staff, conference deans, and other leaders of our Southwestern Texas Synod have already made an impactful gift to create the Tiemann Endowment Fund for Leadership Development. As of November 30th $75,694.63 has been given. Now it's up to us to ensure the fund is large enough to make a significant impact in our faith community.

Rev. Casey Zesch    pastorcaseyblc@gmail.com

Rev. Lucinda Zesch    pastorcaseyblc@gmail.com

Vice President Carl Teinert    envirocat@hotmail.com

Deacon John Dellis    jdellis@lfsw.org

Dianna Hopkins    diannahopkins@ymail.com

Deanna Zitelman    dzitelman@swtsynod.org

Checks should be made payable to Lutheran Foundation of the Southwest, noting on your check memo line Tiemann Endowment Fund. Lutheran Foundation of the Southwest 103 12th Street, Suite 201 | Pflugerville, Texas 78660. Online giving is also available.

Simply use "click here to give online" button to complete your tax-deductible gift.

Of course! Call Mark Armstrong at Lutheran Foundation of the Southwest at (800) 424-0447 or email marmstrong@lfsw.org and you will be connected with the synod gift planner.

If you have questions, or need any assistance, please contact Deacon John Dellis at jdellis@lfsw.org or by phone at (830) 305-2758.

Endowment Resources

Bulletin Insert (2)_Page_1  Poster
Bulletin Insert Front  Back


Thank you to the following congregations who, with their financial support, have ensured the Tiemann Endowment Fund for Leadership Development is a success. Together with individuals in our community, we have raised $75,694.63. 
Abiding Presence, San Antonio
Abiding Savior, Cameron
Amazing Grace, San Antonio
Ascension, Austin
Bethany, Fredericksburg
Bethany Foundation, Fredericksburg
Bethlehem, Hondo
Christ Elm Creek, Seguin
Christ, Georgetown
Christ, Alamo Heights
Faith, Austin
Faith, McDade
First, Burnet
First, Gonzales
Good Shepherd, Bastrop
Grace, Harlingen
Grace, Giddings
Holy Cross, Austin
Hope, San Antonio
House of Prayer, San Antonio
Immanuel, Comfort
Immanuel, Pflugerville
Lost Pines, Bastrop
Love of Christ, Weslaco
Martin Luther, Victoria
Palm Valley, Round Rock
Peace, Woodsboro
Peace, New Braunfels
People of Hope, Victoria
Preston Meadow, Plano
Salem, Port Lavaca
Shepherd King, San Antonio
Spirit in the Hills, Spicewood
St. James, Harper
St. John, Marion
St. Mark, Corpus Christi
St. Paul, Karnes City
St. Paul, Mason
St. Peter, Doss
St. Peter, Goliad
St. Peter, Marble Falls
Trinity, Kingsville
Witting, Moulton
Zion, Fredericksburg
Zion, San Antonio

Tiemann Endowment Fund for Leadership Development Grant

The Tiemann Endowment Fund for Leadership Development has been established to support the development of congregation lay leaders and rostered ministers in the Southwestern Texas Synod. Grants will be distributed annually from the annual distribution of the fund managed by the Lutheran Foundation of the Southwest. The following procedure will be used for submitting, reviewing, and selecting applications for funding.
Application Deadline: January 1st
Applications Reviewed: January 15th
Grants Awarded: January 31st
Evaluation Deadline: One month after completing educational activity



The Southwestern Texas Synod is part of Region 4 of the ELCA-Brandmark
gtm-icon  ELCA  facebook  twitter  instagram  enewsbutton