Southwestern Texas Synod Assembly
May 4-6, 2018
guidebook logo
Download the App
“Guidebook” or
“ELCA Organizations & Events”

Open the App and
qr guidebook
Scan the QR Code 
“SWT Assembly 2018”
Thank You
to our Sponsor
Ray Tiemann 2017

Brothers and Sisters in Christ!

I want to welcome you to our 2018 Synod Assembly at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in San Marcos on May 5-6.  It will be an eventful assembly as a new bishop is elected along with many other important leaders in our synod.

The theme for our assembly is Seeds of Hope: Beyond All Imagination, which will be clearly evident in our worship services, speakers, and offering. The offering will support the ELCA Fund for Leaders program through the ELCA Campaign. Offerings will be collected through December, 2018, and be added to the Southwestern Texas Synod’s account in Fund for Leaders.  Please check the assembly offering page for guidelines and totals.

Whether you are able to attend synod assembly or not, please remember all voting members in prayer.  You can locate materials and reports from the assembly on the assembly website as well as on the Guidebook App.

We look forward to seeing you in San Marcos in May. If you have any questions or need additional information from the assembly, please contact

Bishop Ray Tiemann


Business Information
ELCA Fund For Leaders
Offering Goals & Totals
Conference   Goal    Actual
Alamo   $10,000 $ 6,565.00
Bluebonnet   $12,000 $16,118.88
Capital North   $7,500 $  7,360.75
Capital South   $15,000 $  3,836.00
Cibolo Creek   $15,000 $21,515.60
Gulf Coast   $8,000 $  7,814.00
Hill Country   $ 5,000 $  1,700.00
Rio Grande   $500 $  1,790.00
Non-Conference $  2,888.00
Total Offering $69,255.23
(as of May 6)
Materials will be posted as they become available.
Briner Elect
The Rev. Susan J. Briner has been elected the Bishop of the Southwestern Texas Synod.
She will assume that office on September 1. Other details will be forthcoming this week. 

The Southwestern Texas Synod is part of Region 4 of the ELCA-Brandmark
gtm-icon  ELCA  facebook  twitter  instagram  tumblr  vimeo  enewsbutton