The Ministry Teams
There are three Ministry Teams for the Southwestern Texas Synod. The Mission Team, The Leadership Development Team and The Asset Team. The Synod Assembly elects a chairperson for each team to serve a four-year term. Working groups will be organized to help accomplish this ministry for each of these teams.
The Mission Team

Contact Chair: Rev. Thomas Glasoe

The Mission Team will focus its work in three areas:

Mission Begins, which will work in the establishment and support of synodically authorized worshipping communities, congregations under development, and new mission sites;

Mission Builds, which will focus on restarts, ministry reviews, cooperatives, asset-based planning, and following one of the recommendations of the LIFT proposals, help each congregation develop a missional plan;

Mission Beyond,  which will focus on ministries outside the congregational setting, like campus ministry, seminary and university professors, global mission connections, camping, prison ministry, and hospital/hospice/military chaplains; and so on. 

For up to date info on the Mission Team, go to Soul Cafe


The Leadership Development Team

Contact Chair: Rev. James Bouzard

The Leadership Development Team will coordinate ministry in three areas:

Parish Ministry Training Program, which trains laity in a three-year program for greater service in their home congregations or as synodically authorized ministers;

Rostered Leader Care, which will be an organized cadre of clergy to provide confidential, consistent contact and pastoral care for rostered leaders, both active and retired, including widow(er)s;

Continuing Education, with an intentional emphasis on synod-wide programming annually around a five-year theme rotation, to work with congregational Mutual Ministry committees in establishing a rostered leader’s continuing education covenant, and administering First Call Theological Education.
The Asset Team
Contact Chair: Rev. Sharon Wiggins

The Asset Team will be comprised of various groupings that will be formed and exist for as long as there is passion and interest in that area.  These teams can truly reflect the diversity of people and ministry interests in the synod. 

Currently, those groups include the Poverty Task Force, Cherish Our Children, Peace Not Walls, Partners in Evangelical Worship (PEW), Hunger Task Force, Disaster Preparedness Task Force, Book of Faith, the School of Mission, Young Adult Resource Persons (YARPs), a Communications Task Force, and others as they are created. For more info, go to SoulCafe


Last Published: February 19, 2014 2:12 PM